4th of July

SideCarSueNH grill mistress and camp hostess extraordinaire

SideCarSueNH grill mistress and camp hostess extraordinaire

SideCarSueNH did all the work and Evil Clown got to show off his rack

SideCarSueNH did all the work and Evil Clown got to show off the rack of ribs that were amazing!

my host

my host

Turned out to be a Bloody Mary Saturday

Turned out to be a Bloody Mary Saturday

Evil Clown giving the G-rated ADV salute

Evil Clown giving the G-rated ADV salute

I think Evil Clown felt sorry for me after Black Fly.  He must be the type of guy that brings home stray cats and lost puppies.  He invited me to come spend the Fourth of July with he and his wife (SideCarSueNH) and their daughter and friends in N Conway, NH at a campground.

The plan was I was supposed to ride Margarita to work that day and then continue on over to camp in my tent and hang out with them and I was going to ride during the day. But the forecast was terrible and the campground was going to charge them double if I  pitched my tent in their site and they claimed they didn’t have any more open tent sites and even if they did it would be a three night minimum and I only wanted to stay for two nights.  BUT for $10/night I could bunk with his daughter in a queen-sized bed in their trailer.

Princess camping.  With air conditioning, a freezer, shower and a TV. A girl could get spoiled doing that.  It was a little odd as I’d never met his family but I figured what the heck and packed up the car.

The heat and rain made me appreciate the trailer and A/C more than I think they realized.  It was a really fun time.

Some drinking and visiting. Cooking. Napping.  more drinking. Lots of eating.

They took me up to Cathedral Ledge – a state park with an amazing ledge that rock climbers climb.

They were amazingly gracious host and hostess and I hope to be able to return the hospitality when they come to Casa Carmel for  a visit sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

