Fostering a KLX250

It was Sunday at 1 PM and it was bright and sunny, and finally above freezing, although barely.  I texted Gregg, “You out riding?”  He texted back, “Just got back from a pool clinic. Sooo no.”  Gregg is a sea kayak guide and thus runs weekend clinics for kayakers at this time of year in a local YMCA pool.  I called him.  “What are you going to do for the rest of the afternoon?” I asked, itching to get out and ride.  “Hmmm I was thinking of taking a nap to thaw out – I got really cold standing in the pool for two hours.”  I have a large outside hot tub at my house and so I said, “Any interest in coming over here and thawing out in the hot tub instead?”  And then … for good measure I added, “…and throwing the KLX250 onto the truck as long as you’re heading over this way?”

Keep in mind that Gregg and I live 60 miles away from each other …and when you’re having a nap attack that can seem very far away.  BUT  – Gregg’s a great guy and a wonderful friend and riding partner and without hesitation he said. “Sure!”

I was busy doing whatever eats up my Sundays when all of a sudden what do I hear?  But the most amazing sound – the KLX in my driveway!  Gregg has agreed to allow me to “foster” his 2006 Kawasaki KLX250 with the intent of fully adopting it.  Meaning buying it from him.  But in the meantime I get to ride it and see how I like it.  I hope to get a lot of miles on it before I make the decision to add a third bike to my stable, or at least until I am able to sell the 1999 Honda Shadow that I just don’t see myself riding any more.

KLX arriving at her foster home

KLX arriving at her foster home

three bikes looking very much at home in the garage

three bikes looking very much at home in the garage

Yellow Power Ranger ready to ride aboard her Saber Toothed Tiger

Yellow Power Ranger ready to ride aboard her Saber-Toothed Tiger

Now if I only had the power to melt snow and bring Spring forth

Now if I only had the power to melt snow and bring Spring forth

I really do look like a Yellow Power Ranger in the Aerostich don’t I?  When I dubbed myself as such I had no idea that the Yellow Power Ranger was a female named Yanni.  She was chosen for her compassion, quick wit and martial arts talent.  Becoming the Yellow Power Ranger she was given the Saber-Toothed Tiger Power Coin and Saber-Toothed Tiger Dinozord.  You do know that I ride a Triumph Tiger, don’t you?  Guess it was meant to be.  Now if I only had the power to melt snow and bring Spring forth my riding season could kick into high gear.

In the meantime I can not wait to get out and start racking up the miles on the KLX.

Thank you Gregg!

Leave a Reply

