Day 12 – easy day Jackson, MS to Birmingham, AL

Day 12 – decided to leave Jackson and head to Birmingham and possibly hang out for two nights to avoid severe storms.  Looking forward to checking out the Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum while there.

Just as we were pulling out of the Motel 6 in Jackson, MS and onto the frontage road before getting back on I-55 I spied a Triumph dealer.  We pulled in and sure enough – they had the right front lens cover that I needed.  For $10.70.  Done. And he installed it for me. It was interesting to note that their shop rate is $109.  Yikes, happy I don’t live in Jackson.  He was also kind enough to provide some really awesome tape to “repair” the damage to the hard case as a result of the ‘dirt nap’ back on NM 126.

Wayne Farris of Capitol Sports Center Triumph installing new lens cover

Wayne Farris of Capitol Sports Center Triumph installing new lens cover

all fixed!

all fixed!

I must admit I was very pleasantly surprised by just how beautiful northern Mississippi is.  It reminded us a little bit of Maine.  Except that it was 75 degrees in late October.  There’s a lot to be said for southern hospitality.  We been through many miles of construction and around here when there are signs that say, “Right (or left) lane closed 2 miles ahead” folks are in the proper lane a mile before they need to.

Jackson, MS sunrise

Jackson, MS sunrise

sun coming up as we headed east out of Jackson, MS on I-55

sun coming up as we headed east out of Jackson, MS on I-55

very pretty parts of northern MS

very pretty parts of northern MS

another gorgeous` day to be riding

another gorgeous` day to be riding

As we passed through Meridan, MS we decided to pull into Chunky River Harley-Davidson so I could pick up some tee-shirts for Dave J. and Mike D.  These are two of the Harley guys I rode with this summer.  Their warmth and kindness in welcoming me into the “Tory Hill Gang” was a bit overwhelming.  This is just a small token of my appreciation.

Chunky River H-D, Meridan, MS

Chunky River H-D, Meridan, MS

P1020692

We arrived in Birmingham and headed over to Big #1 Power Sports to pick up a new visor for my Scorpion EXO-700  helmet.  Also an Indian dealer.  My Dad had a 1936 Indian Chief.

new Indian

new Indian Chief

They also had what I still consider my dream machine.

still think this is my dream bike - Ducati MultiStrada

still think this is my dream bike – Ducati MultiStrada

While there Gregg had them change the oil in the Strom and when they brought it out they’d washed it.  So we had them wash Margarita as well.  But we’d left the bags back at the hotel and they’re still dirty.  Speaking of dirty … we got a load of laundry going and then headed out to run some errands.  I hopped up two-up with Gregg and off we went.

Ran down to Radio Shack to see if they had another universal charger for the Scal Comm units.  They’re great, but seems to run out of charge by the end of the day.  So say – like last night they’d gone dark.  There we were at the traffic light.  I could see the Motel 6 straight ahead and on the right.  But Gregg was in the lead and turned left.  I’ve gotten so accustomed to talking all day that I was saying, “Straight!”  But he couldn’t hear me.  He turned left and I went straight.  But we both ended up where we needed to be but had decided that charging both overnight would be better than having to get up in the middle of the night and switch which unit getting the charge.  They didn’t have exactly what we needed – but every adapting Gregg invested in the cigarette charger version and now both are happily charging.  Also a quick grocery run at Wally-World.  Bagels, peanut butter, Cliff Bars for me, Pop-Tarts for Gregg and some bananas.  And then to Little Caesars for a take-out pizza for dinner.

Disappointed that pool was locked up as we’d planned on eating our pizza with our feet in the pool. But still happy.  Another beautiful day of riding.  No rain.  Clean clothes (really wanted to wash all the cold weather gear prior to having to put it back on again).  Added bonus – nice conversation with my folks.

Tomorrow – Barber…

One response to “Day 12 – easy day Jackson, MS to Birmingham, AL”

  1. Lisa G. ;) says :

    Oh my goodness you are a crazy woman!! (In a very good way!) LOL!!!! You have WAY bigger balls than I every thought of having taking this trip!!!! You Rock!!! So glad your doing well and all is good!! See you soon. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

