Day 11 -Denton, TX across of all of LA and to Jackson, MS

heading out of  TX east toward LA

heading out of TX east toward LA

Hit the road fairly early hoping to make it all the way to Jackson, MS.  Nearly 450 miles.

I was oh-so-thankful for the cloudy day yesterday.  It was 80 degrees by mid-day and that was without any direct sun.

Lone Oak, TX

Lone Oak, TX

Lone Oak TX FD.  Wonder just how skinny their fire trucks are

Lone Oak TX FD. Wonder just how skinny their fire trucks are

Had to stop in Lone Oak, TX and get the liners out of my riding pants before I overheated the point of getting nauseous and heat stroke. Gregg had been hankering for a donut for a few days and when I saw the donut shop I pulled over to undress.  I rode in just a shirt under my riding jacket and just unlined riding pants.  The first day of no layers and no sun and I was still too warm.  Thankfully I brought my summer gloves so at least my hands were cool.

As we rode into Marshall, TX  I pulled off the interstate and stopped at the first gas station and inquired as to where the best barbeque in town was.  I was directed to Bodacious Bar-B-Q which was just north on 59 for 8 lights and then on the right.  Bodacious was right. Well worth the stop. We shared a three-meat plate (smoked turkey, sausage and sliced beef) with two huge sides (coleslaw and pinto beans) for $10.  Gregg had said he didn’t want to leave Texas without some decent barbeque.   He got his wish.

arriving at Bodacious Bar-B-Q Marshall, TX

arriving at Bodacious Bar-B-Q Marshall, TX

interior of Bodacious Bar-B-Q Marshall, TX

interior of Bodacious Bar-B-Q Marshall, TX

three meat plate with two sides - Bodacious Bar-B-Q Marshall, TX

three meat plate with two sides – Bodacious Bar-B-Q Marshall, TX

We rode out of TX and across Louisiana into Mississippi just as the sun was setting.  The last hour of riding were finally comfortable and cool.P1150224

Mississippi  River

Mississippi River

The only disappointment of the day?  Birthday sister Melanie is in DC for meeting and not at home in Jackson, MS so I missed seeing her while in town.

Most commonly asked question thus far:  Is that a custom paint-job? No, it’s Triumph stock Roulette Green.

Most thankful for: Gregg’s superior route planning and bad weather avoidance navigation knack.

Leave a Reply

