Day 4 riding from Danville, IL to St. Louis and Columbia, MO

low-tech thermometer Danville, IL

low-tech thermometer
Danville, IL

Yup - I am kissing Margarita good morning

Yup – I am kissing Margarita good morning

the Zebra and the Tiger locked together for the night

the Zebra and the Tiger locked together for the night

We awoke to 26 degrees and so we had a lazy morning while we waited for the temperature and sun to rise.  Walked over to Big Boy’s for breakfast.  And now I know why they call it Big Boy’s – because every boy in there was a BIG boy!!

We unlocked the bikes and headed west toward St. Louis.  It was still cold and I literally had every stitch of clothing on – my riding jacket is a men’s 2XL and I filled it up so that I looked and felt like the Michelin Man.  Polypro long underwear shirt, a silk turtleneck, then a Capilene pullover, a fleece sweatshirt, a heavy fleece jacket and then the thermal lined FirstGear riding jacket with a balaclava under my helmet AND a fleece neck warmer.  Polypro long underwear, fleece pants and then my thermal lined River Road Taos riding pants.  I was warm, dry and comfy.  Winter gloves and grip heaters on high.  I was happy all day – save for the extremely windy conditions and the micro-squall that damn near blew me off the bike.

Thanks to Lance the helmet-to-helmet communication was a wonderful addition.

I hadn’t realized that this would be Gregg’s first visit to St. Louis.  Yeah!

Here we are!  Gregg's first visit to St. Louis

Here we are! Gregg’s first visit to St. Louis

At Malcolm W. Martin Memorial Park in East St. Louis - a tad sketchy getting there - but the best view

At Malcolm W. Martin Memorial Park in East St. Louis – a tad sketchy getting there – but the best view

the view from the bridge

the view from the bridge

leaving St. Louis in our rear view mirrors, but not the rain

leaving St. Louis in our rear view mirrors, but not the rain

As we left St. Louis the skies looked ominous.  Serious cells and bands of what looked like very severe weather both to the left and right of us with a small break in the clouds.  It was as though I-70 curved around to meet the opening in the weather as the miles road on.

interesting skies all day

interesting skies all day

I-70 curving to meet the break in the clouds

I-70 curving to meet the break in the clouds

mean looking skies both the left and right of us

mean looking skies both the left and right of us

We stopped for an impromptu lunch from my trunk – smoked kippers, baby carrots and peanut butter and Reese’s for dessert, and to shed some layers as it had finally warmed up.

Aside from getting caught in a micro-squall that knocked my tank bag clear off the top of the tank over to the far left and me letting out a string of profanity that proved I am at heart still a sailor it was a most excellent day of riding. Checked into another Motel 6 (Gregg’s got the app on his phone) and then Gregg drove us to Steak n Shake for dinner aboard Margarita.  Sort of fun to be a passenger on my own bike – but won’t be doing that again.  Felt like a kid on a trike – knees up to my ears.

PS – relaxing into those unexpected gusts of wind really does work.

Starting odometer reading for the day: 23,360

Ending odometer reading for the day: 23,700

LESSON #16:  When Gregg asks, “Have you seen my sunglasses?” always check his face first.  This was learned after he spent five minutes searching for them after a fuel stop.  I was busy helping him look for them – it wasn’t until he’d pulled out his spare pair and attempted to put them on when he realized he was wearing them.

Tomorrow to Kansas City for BBQ for lunch.

2 responses to “Day 4 riding from Danville, IL to St. Louis and Columbia, MO”

  1. Kaw says :

    That is NOT where you kiss a bike!

Leave a Reply

