T minus 12 hours

So here it is Friday night and I’m leaving in the morning.  Not the trip I’d planned – but this is great practice at remaining open and flexible to whatever happens.  This trip is ALL about the journey no matter what the destination might turn out to be.  Just like back in February when I put my extreme fear of heights aside and climbed the up the rigging of the USGC Eagle.

I'm coming up - just at my own speed

I’m coming up – just at my own speed

climbing gear on and up the ratlines I go

climbing gear on and up the ratlines I go

147 feet to the top of the mainmast - that's a long way up

147 feet to the top of the mainmast – that’s a long way up

Although Rich’s new custom seat arrived via FedEx today it was without any mounting hardware and is not of any use as it is.  I have put aside my trepidation about riding by myself for such a long distance, over multiple days, all interstate and without a dedicated GPS or two.  I’d planned on Rich (and both of his GPSs) riding with me for the first two days  as far out as Ohio and had been looking forward to going through the AMA Hall of Fame and Museum with him before we went our separate ways and I continue on for half a day solo to meet up with Gregg.  Now I’m going the first 1200 miles, three days, entirely by myself.  Gulp.  That’s a whole lot further than 147 feet to the top of the mainmast of the Eagle.  And no climbing harness so no way to clip on, and nothing to clip onto, if I get scared or need to take a break.  No one there to stand on the far side of the bike to make sure I get it off the center stand safely – or even to help me get it up onto the center stand to begin with.

Lucky for me Rich rode over tonight and is loaning me his mini-to-USA-cigarette adapter cable and now I can at least plug in my phone and use the Android Navigator app in a bind.  Also provide full charging capability for both phones and the GoPro helmet cam (and brand new multi-mounting kit) on loan for the ride from Nathan my house-sitter.  He rocks!

Less than an hour to the partial lunar eclipse and 12 hours to blast off.

Starting odometer reading:

starting odometer reading 22,206 Bowdoinham, ME

starting odometer reading 22,206 Bowdoinham, ME

 

It’s the start of an entirely new chapter for Margarita and me.  As someone told me today, “Biking is recreation.  And recreation is just that… re  creation.

Leave a Reply

