Tear down day (9/21/2013)

LESSON #4: Not everything goes according to plan.

wow - a gallon of oil is a lot Bill says I should change the filter 3500 miles into the ride

wow – a gallon of oil is a lot
Bill says I should change the filter 3500 miles into the ride

look I can add oil

look I can add oil

So I rode the bike over to Bill’s

at 8 o’clock this morning.  Oil change went well.  Bill is loaning me his oil filter wrench so I can change the filter 3500 miles into the ride.  The Castrol synthetic oil should be fine for the entire ride but I’m bringing two quarts, one to help with filter change and the rest …well, just in case.

With the help of Google determined you have to remove the tank on the Tiger to do…..most everything….including changing the air filter which is stashed under the tank. On the upside – discovered a K&N aIr filter had been installed so at least that will never need to be changed again.

yippee! the K&N air filter means I can go a million miles before I have to do this again

yippee! the K&N air filter means I can go a million miles before I have to do this again

From Keystiger on the TriumphTalk Forum

First remove the seats.
Then remove the battery, negative terminal first (just a reminder).
Remove the battery holding box bolt at the bottom, and the two that attach to the rear of the tank.
Loosen the rear tank bolt.
Then the front bolt, a loooong allen wrench to keep from scratching the tank or bars is helpful.
You will now need to remove all the side plastics and the turn signal holding plastics. (actually did this first)
It is helpful to remove both the black and green plastic frame covers on the right side as this little guy hides in there…..
Connector to the fuel sensor/sending unit….
The two connections are on the left side. Fuel pump and fuel line connections. The fuel line is a very trick little clip that is very easy to remove, just squeeze and pull down.

AND that’s where it went wrong.

oops-a-daisy, while pulling the tank off the bottom fuel connector broke and the replacement is on order, but won't be in until Friday.  Darn good thing there's a spare bike in the garage.

oops-a-daisy, while pulling the tank off the bottom fuel connector broke and the replacement is on order, but won’t be in until Friday. Darn good thing there’s a spare bike in the garage.

Ian at StreetCycles won’t have the new one in until Friday.  AND I’m heading to Colorado on Thursday to celebrate birthday up at Breckenridge with gal pals llise (lives in Colorado Springs) and Lisa (lives here in Maine).  Darn good thing there’s a spare Honda still in my garage!  Bill said he’ll pick up the part and put Margarita back together for me next weekend.  I hope I can pick her up when I’m back from CO after the 1st.

And this is what she looks like w/o a battery (BTW - I did find the battery tender!)

And this is what she looks like w/o a battery (BTW – I did find the battery tender!)

all torn apart to get to air filter

all torn apart to get to air filter

don't worry - the mallet was just to hold the tank up with lines were being unclipped

don’t worry – the mallet was just to hold the tank up with lines were being unclipped

Tags:

Leave a Reply

