Kancamagnus and more

Odometer at start of ride: 20,664

Odometer at start of ride: 20,664

So it was another awesome day of riding.  Left the house for Buxton at 8 a.m.  Got out to David J’s a little earlier than our 9:30 date.  Was presented with an amazing early birthday gift.  A Harley-Davidson fleece half-vest to wear under my riding jacket.  It has a super soft fleece neck that prevents the wind from going up into my helmet and down my jacket onto my back.  The sides have Velcro so it’s super adjustable and can be worn over a sweater or any number of layers.  Very nice!

Margarita happily parked at first break

Margarita happily parked at first break

Rode over to  Steep Falls to Rick B’s house with David and picked up Joe and Chris.  Did an easy ride over to the Kancamagnus Hwy and up through Franconia Notch and down into Crawford Notch.  Then up and over Hurricane Mountain Road.  I still think it would be more fun (and WAY safer) if it were a one-way road.  Very nearly got taken out by a Subaru.  If I’d had my side bags on I think I would have been toast.  Got down into Fryeburg and David recognized his brother Steve and nephew Kyle. Steve’s spent three years rebuilding a bike and was out on his inaugural ride and the battery died.  They’d been waiting for about 30 minutes and a friend showed up with a trailer to haul her back to the shop.     Joe and Chris peeled off and Kyle rode with us out of Fryeburg to Lovell and down to Sweden on miles and miles of freshly paved Route 93.

LESSON #3: Road kill on freshly paved road is difficult to see.

By the time I got home it was 303 miles later.  Great day.  Great guys.  Great ride.

my favorite kind of road sign

my favorite kind of road sign

Odometer at end of ride: 20,967

Odometer at end of ride: 20,967

Leave a Reply

