Bringing Margarita home to Maine from Vermont

my view on the ride over to VT

my view on the ride over to VT

I left my house in Bowdoinham at about 7 a.m. and drove my car to Gregg’s house and climbed two-up behind him on his 2002 V-strom with 88,000 miles on it and off we headed. Within the first five miles it all came rushing back to me. I had all could do to keep from throwing up in my full-face helmet.  If I’d forgotten I suddenly recalled why I’d gotten my motorcycle endorsement – I am not a good passenger!

what it looked like on the ride over

what it looked like on the ride over

We arrived where we needed to be a few miles down a great Vermont dirt road by 12:30 after a lovely ride (nauseous aside) out 202, 9, 279 and 7 north of Bennington. After a brief panic as we headed out for a test ride when the fuel warning light didn’t go out and the needle didn’t come up off E. It was explained that sending unit was shot and I still had 200 miles to go before I’d really be out of fuel off we went for a 50 mile test ride.

When we returned I was worried that I was going to buy the Tiger just so I wasn’t going to have to ride back to Maine two-up. Lucky for all of us I was saved that fate because we were able to agree on the price.  The deal was done and we headed home.

Stopped to take a few pictures and for a late lunch at 4:30 in Wilmington, VT at The Anchor.  We took our time. A fuel stop. A Dunkin Donuts stop. A clear-the-bugs-off-our-visors stop.  A put-on-another-layer stop. A biobreak stop. Arrived back at Gregg’s just before 9. I was so sad to leave my new bike in his shed, but had no choice as drove my car home. Crawled into my bed at 10:15. Exhausted but happy.

happytigerface

Happy Tiger face!

hereIcome2

Lovin’ the White Mountains of Vermont

mykindofroad

My kind of riding

offIgo

Heading home to Maine with my new machine

testride

7S to Bennington, 279 & 9E through the White Mtns

zoomzoom

A girl and her Tiger

zoomzoom2

hey look – I can now pass, going uphill

Dunkin Donuts stop. Halfway home

Dunkin Donuts stop. Halfway home

Bill came by at 8 the next morning and I climbed up onto the back of his MotoGuzzi Norge for a ride out to bring Margarita all the home to my house.

Thank you Gregg and Bill.  Thank you David. I stopped by for a short visit with David and parked in his driveway. On an angle. Not sure I would have been able to get my new bike up off its sidestand without his help.

LESSON #1: Pay attention to angles, topology, substrate and where/how you park a big-ass bike when you’re alone and not a big-ass girl.

Leave a Reply

